top of page

MEET THE TEAM

Dr. Kandice Soraya Grote

Email: kandice.grote@csun.edu

Associate Professor in Child and Adolescent Development

California State University, Northridge

image1.JPG

Dr. Kandice Soraya Grote is an associate professor in the department of Child and Adolescent Development at California State University Northridge. She obtained her Ph.D. in Psychological Sciences from UC Merced, and her B.A. in Psychology with double minors in Education and Social and Ethnic Relations from UC Davis.  When she's not teaching or conducting research she enjoys opportunities to be creative like playing the violin, painting, as well as numerous visits to Disneyland, and spending time with her friends and family! 

DianamiePineda.jpg

Dianamie Pineda, Lab Manager and Research Assistant 

Hello! I am a graduate from CSUN's Department of Child and Adolescent Development – Applied Developmental Science and minor in Psychology. I have been accepted to Arizona State University for my Master's Degree and continue to work with the Orange Lab. My goal is obtaining a master’s degree and pursuing a career as an Applied Behavior Analyst helping children develop and educating families.Things I like to do for fun: I love to be in nature, I enjoy hiking and taking photographs. Photography is my way to capture moments and create beautiful images, it’s another form of art that I enjoy doing in my free time.

Daisy Alvarado.jpg

Daisy Alvarado, Research Assistant  

Hello! I am a current Child and Adolescent Development (CADV) Major. I have enjoyed learning about child development in my CADV courses. I plan on continuing my education after receiving my Bachelors degree to possibly pursue a career in Occupational Therapy or a similar field.

Things I like to do for fun: If I am not working or doing school work you will probably find me doing something outdoors. I enjoy hiking, taking my dog for walks, and playing soccer!

Alexandra Bolivar.jpg

Alexandra Bolivar, Research Assistant

Nice to meet you, my name is Alexandra. I’m a Psychology major with a minor in CADV and Human Lactation graduating in Spring 24’ and thinking of applying to an MSW and working in a clinical or hospital setting. I gravitate towards any field that relates to health because sometimes our physical and mental health can get overshadowed by the overwhelming chaos that surrounds us and I want to be a support system for others, so if you ever want to talk I’m here to listen. I look forward to engaging in meaningful work through the Orange Lab!

Things I like to do for fun: I like to go on hikes, listen to music, and take care of my three-legged dog Toby, he is so fluffy and so old I love him. I also have two chickens named Mabel and Phoebe, obviously, you can see who my favorite character from Friends was. I love watching shows on Netflix so if you have any recommendations I’m all ears! If I’m not at home working on assignments I’m probably out trying new foods or attending events with my partner.

Ana.jpg

Anastasiia Brigadnova, Research Assistant

Hi all! My name is Anastasia, I am a Business Administration (management) major with a minor in Child and Adolescent Development. I've recently had an area of study change (or addition in this case) and hope to work with children someday. 

In my free time I enjoy going on walks or just exploring new places and hobbies. Sometimes it's rollerskating or ice skating, and sometimes it's just a visit to the local museum.

Garcia_Alexis_22.jpeg

Alexis Garcia, Research Assistant

Hi, my name is Alexis Garcia and I am currently pursuing a Bachelor in Applied Child and Adolescent Development with a minor in Gender Women's Studies. I also represent CSUN as a student-athlete.

Things I like to do for fun are paint on my free time and go hiking whenever I can!

Nicole Goldman.jpg

Nicole Goldman, Research Assistant

Hi! My name is Nicole, and I graduated from CSUN in spring of 2023 with my bachelors in Child and Adolescent Development. Recently, I have learned just how amazing research is. I am excited to widen my knowledge of the whole research process as we delve into topics and areas that are so important to look into. I hope to get my masters in Instructional Design and one day work in an academic setting as a curriculum developer.

Danitza.jpg

Danitza Hernandez, Research Assistant

Hi, my name is Danitza Hernandez. Currently a 3rd year student at CSUN working towards my BA in Liberal Studies. I love working with kids and hope to obtain my teaching credential and pursue teaching at Elementary school in the near future.

 

Things I like to do for fun: Sunset walks, kayaking , baking and binge shows.

Jorge Hernandez.jpg

Jorge Hernandez, Research Assistant

Hello, my name is Jorge Hernandez and I'm currently enrolled in CSUN for my undergraduate studies, pursuing a B.A. in Child and Adolescent Development with an emphasis on Applied Developmental Science. I’m interested in working with young adolescents through counseling, mentorship, or any mental health profession that I could look into as a possible career path.

 

Things I like to do for fun: I have been a long-distance runner and a marathoner for several years as I'm always practicing and competing in different races. Normally listen to music or watch videos to pass the time. Hanging out with friends or spending time with family members. I also like to walk around and explore the surrounding areas

Viviana Hernandez.jpg

Viviana Hernandez, Research Assistant

Hi my name is Viviana and I am a transfer student at CSUN. I am currently studying towards my BA in Child and Adolescent Development.

 

Things I like to do for fun: spend time with my family, listen to music, take long walks, and watch Disney movies with my daughter.

Kristopher Huezo, Research Assistant

Hi, my names Kristopher Huezo, I am a current senior at California State University of Northridge (CSUN). I am majoring in Child Adolescent Development (CADV) and minoring in psychology. I aspire to continue my pursuit for knowledge within my future educational and business endeavours. Alongside my aspirations, I love to maintain my love for animals (especially my orange cat), close family, and any animated, comedic, horror, hero, and action movies. I promise I’m a riot!

Beatriz Jimenez.jpg

Beatriz Jimenez, Research Assistant

I am a 3rd-year student at CSUN majoring in Early Child and Adolescent Development. I hope to administer my own daycare in the future, but any career working with children and their families is what I aspire to do.

Things I like to do for fun include finding new places to eat, shopping second-hand, and spending time with my friends.

Lina.jpg

Lina Kangavary, Research Assistant

I am a current CSUN student pursuing a major in Psychology with the goal of earning my BA. I am striving to get into a Masters program soon after to continue my studies. My research interests center around Autism Spectrum Disorders and Intellectual Developmental Disabilities, reflecting my deep commitment to understanding and addressing these complex challenges.

 

Things I like to do for fun: I love to go hiking with my friends and family!

Amore Lazo.jpg

Amore Lazo, Lab Manager and Research Assistant

I am a recent graduate of CSUN, class of 2022 with a BA in CADV specifically, early childhood development. With the experience I have had so far in education, I have found a love for teaching and expanding my knowledge in understanding children.

 

Things I like to do for fun: I love to go to the park to play any sport such as baseball, frisbee, soccer, football and handball. I love to take time for myself when I need time to think. Usually that looks like me watching YouTube or Netflix in bed with a good snack.

Estephanie Lopez.jpg

Estephanie Lopez, Research Assistant

Hi, I'm Estephanie and I'm majoring in Psychology with a minor in Child and Adolescent Development. I want to learn as much as possible for as long as I can because I love learning and hopefully, I can find something I love that I can pursue further.

 

In my spare time I'm intently staring at the television, hoping that my favorite sports team is winning (unfortunately they all seem to be on a losing streak). I also like learning new languages (I'm currently trying to learn Portuguese!) and watching TV shows like Ted Lasso and Abbott Elementary!

Drestine Leogo.jpg

Drestine Leogo, Research Assistant

Hello, I'm Drestine Leogo! I'm a transfer student who's currently at CSUN pursuing my bachelor's in Communications Disorders and Sciences in the hopes of becoming a speech-language pathologist in the future!

 

Things I like to do for fun: read books, listening to the same five songs over and over again, doing art, exploring new places and trying out new food.

Julissa Najera.jpg

Julissa Najera, Research Assistant

Hi, I’m Julissa and I’m a psychology major who is aiming to pursuit the clinical psychology route for my career. I love to go to the gym, go for walks and hikes, read, and watch tv.

Gali Medina, Research Assistant

Hi! My name is Gali. I just graduated from CSUN with my bachelors in child and adolescent development and psychology. I’m looking to getting my masters in clinical psychology and then my doctorate in child and adolescent psychology. I love working with kiddos of all ages, especially the little ones! I’m looking forward to getting experience working in the Orange Lab setting and exploring how data is reviewed and collected. 

 

In my free time I love to spend time with friends and family which include my dog and 2 cats. I love trying new food and if time permits go to Disneyland. 

Gali Clipped.jpg
Brian Reyes.jpg

Brian Reyes, Research Assistant

Hi, my name is Brian Reyes. I am taking a gap year and working as a full-time bookstore

assistant, tech support, and website developer/designer for Tia Chuchas. Once I get my associate degree, I plan on applying to CSUN and possibly majoring in Psychology. Lately, I have been very interested in the data analysis and research aspects of Psychology. I want to be a part of impactful research, which is why I’m looking forward to being a part of Orange Lab! As someone who works in a multicultural bookstore, I'm looking forward to being a part of this research on bilingualism.

 

Things I like to do for fun: I like to read, work on my website for my business, spend time with friends and family, go on road trips, take care of my chickens and dog, and spend time with my

partner who is also a part of Orange Lab.

jazmine 1.jpg

Jazmine Smith, Research Assistant

Hi, my name is Jazmine and I am a recent Graduate of CSUN  with a BA in Liberal Studies Pre-Credential Option . I am excited to start my new experience as both a research assistant with the Orange Lab and a soon to be graduate student at Cal Lu with a focus in College Counseling.
 

Things I like to do for fun: Listening to music, spending time with friends, trying new places to eat, learning something new and my favorite would be playing video games.

Roberto Ventura.jpg

Roberto Ventura, Research Assistant

Hello, my name is Roberto. Currently I am a junior pursuing a BA in Psychology! Afterwards I plan to pursue graduate school and conduct psychotherapy in which one day will be a private practice.

 

Things I like to do for fun are shooting 35mm film of my friends and I, and always in one way or another listening to music or talking about music.

bottom of page